The 4 Stages of a Banksy Piece (NYC 2013)

by urthboy

Luckily there was an "abandoned" block in the densely populated lower east side of Manhattan

Luckily there was an abandoned block in the densely populated lower east side of Manhattan

Stage 1 involves the discovery of one of Banksy’s #banksyny series.

"I don't know art but I know what I like"

“I don’t know art but I know what I like”

Stage 2: A crowd gathers and takes photos. All day. A local cafe puts up a sign “Banksy drinks coffee here”.

Art lovers or auto wreckers looking for spare car parts?

Auto wrecking art lovers

Stage 3: Rip that shit off.

Like it never happened. Care and temporary wall mysteriously disappear.

Car + wall disappear revealing a private car park like the whole thing never happened.

Stage 4: Fortunately, someone efficiently disposes of everything as if the whole thing was meticulously organised – less than a week after it emerged. Local cafe changes sign to ‘Banksy is a fake’. Kinda like this.

